Final Photo Essay: Astounding Architecture In Hull

thumb_img_0535_1024

I decided to attend the Light shows event and took a picture at Queen’s Gardens. I particularly like the different colours of the building as well as the rising smoke above it.

thumb_img_0520_1024

I particularly like the way that the light from the building is reflecting on the still water. I took this image at the light shows at night.

THE DEEP.jpg

For the first time, i used the railings of the bridge to take this photo. I made the railings black and used a variation of colours for the water to give the image as a whole a colour contrast. I set the aperture to f7.1 and the shutter speed 1/160.

neww-2nd-london

This is a photo i took in Kings Cross, London. Although my project is mainly to do with the architecture in hull, it’s unique shape, and the fact that other photographers captured this structure like Daniel, a British architectural photographer, i decided to add this photo to my project.

st-stephens

To capture more of the building than my previous shot of only the upper part of St Stephens, i went behind it and took the photo, and used photoshop to make the image black and white as Kelly Mcann does for her photos – which really makes her photos beautiful and give them a sense of elegance. I set the aperture to f/4 and the shutter speed to 1/800.

dd-14

As i edited this photo, i like the way the structure looks, as the  white on the building gives it a more ancient yet still slightly modern look. I set the lens to 18mm, the aperture to f/4, and the shutter speed to 1/800.thumb_img_0237_1024

In my opinion, what makes Kelly Mcann’s photos that much better is that she uses the shadows of the buildings to her advantage: the “Fire Exit” photo of hers is a good example of this. With this in mind, i took a picture of the C4DI building: I utilised the shadows from the railings to my advantage and edited it in photoshop which made the bridge and the photo as a whole more appealing. For this image, i set the aperture to f/5 and the shutter speed to 1/500.

dd-11

As i had taken this photo when it was getting quite dark, the colours were not very bright. I used photoshop and carefully edited the St Stephens building, using blue, red and orange to make the building brighter. For this image i set the aperture to f5.6 and the shutter speed to 1/30.

ddd10

Upon researching Kelly Mcann, i decided to emulate her work, particularly her “Glass Net” photograph by using the environment to my advantage. i did this by using the mirror opposite the Holy Trinity Church to give it an abstract feel and to include a unique element rather than taking simple pictures of local buildings. new-new-dd8

Since researching Kelly Mcann, i learned that i could also take photographs of buildings from different angles: such as the photograph above, where i took the picture from the bottom attempting to show leading lines. In this photograph, i studied Kelly Mcann’s “Monumental” and “Glass Ocean” photographs. I decided to use photoshop to darken certain areas as she did in her Glass Ocean photograph. I did this to give a contrast as well between the dark areas and the extremely white sky.dd-6

The Voyage Statue. I made the sun even brighter and dimmed the colour around the statue. For this image, I set the aperture to f/5 and the shutter speed to 1/800.

dd-5

I believe another great quality that Kelly Mcann has as a photographer is that she is able to take photographs of ordinary architecture and make them look stunning. Her “Fire Exit” photo gave me the idea of capturing architecture that may not be seen as “beautiful” to most, and i believe i made this architecture look more appealing because of the leading lines and the detail in the foreground. I used an aperture of f5.6 and a shutter speed of 1/100.dd-4

I particularly like this image, because of the rays of light shining on the railings and the detail in the foreground. The aperture in this photo was the same as the Voyage Statue photo: f/5, however i changed the shutter speed to 1/1000.

DD 2.jpg

The Holy Trinity Church. I decided to darken the Church to make it Black and different from stereotypical Churches that are “white” and “bright”.  I got this idea from KellyMcann’s “imposition” photo, as the dark shade on the right side of the building not only adds contrast but it would look more plain without the dark shade. I set the aperture to f/4 and the shutter speed to 1/1000. thumb_img_0121_1024

The Saint Mary’s Church. I used photoshop to darken the picture and make the background a lighter shade and the foreground slightly darker to create a balanced contrast. For this image, i set the aperture to f/5.6 and the shutter speed to 1/125.

Leave a Reply

